Tahsildhar and Taluka Magistrate Office


In a Taluk, The Tahsildar is the most important Government functionary. He is for his charge what the DC is for the District and is immediately sub-ordinate to the Sub-divisional officer. 

The Tahsildar is responsible for the collection of land revenue and seeing that the village Accountants and Revenue inspectors in his charge work efficiently and keep the village records up-to-date. By virtue of his office, the Tahsildar is an executive Magistrate under the Criminal Procedure code. He is the Electoral Registration Officer for his Taluk and also the Assistant Returning Officer for the Assembly Constituencies covering his taluk. He is also the secretary of the Tribunals constituted under the Land Reforms Act. And also sanctioning authority under various schemes.

Bidar district has 8 tahsils

  1. Bidar
  2. Aurad
  3. Basavakalyan
  4. Humnabad
  5. Bhalki
  6. Kamalnagar
  7. Hulsur
  8. Chitguppa


Shirathedars have been appointed in each taluk to assist the Tahsildar. Under Rules 43 and 67 of the Karnataka Land Revenue Rules, 1966, Shirastedar or any officer of Revenue Department equal or superior in rank to him can hear and pass orders in disputed cases arising out at the stage of preparation of record of Rights and also at the maintenance stage.